Tatsuya Okubo, UTokyo Executive Vice President (Former School of Engineering Dean, and Department of Chemical System Engineering Professor) has been selected to be a judge for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) was established in 2011 as a global prize for engineering, which would be as prestigious as a Nobel Prize in engineering.
Previous QEPrize recipients include Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Marc Andreessen, Tim Berners-Lee, Robert Langer, Eric Fossum, George Smith, Nobukazu Teranishi, and Michael Tompsett. Current judges include Lynn Gladden, Jim Al-Khalili, John Anderson, Mary C. Boyce, and Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz.
From Japan, Isamu Akasaki and Shuji Nakamura, winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics, are among the 2021 QEPrize recipients.

・Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering:
・Okubo-Wakihara-Iyoki Lab: